Les changements climatiques affectent de plus en plus la paix et la sécurité à travers le monde, et des facteurs tels que les inégalités sociales et des sexes catalysent les effets de cette tendance désastreuse. Comment peut-on aider à empêcher les changements climatiques de perturber davantage la paix et la sécurité ? La réponse est dévoilée dans ce nouveau cours en ligne, pour lequel les utilisateurs peuvent s’inscrire et découvrir les trois modules.

 

Poursuivez votre lecture et apprenez-en plus sur le cours « Changements climatiques, paix et sécurité : Comprendre les risques de sécurité liés au climat à travers une perspective intégrée ».

Les changements climatiques ont été qualifiés de « problème déterminant de notre époque ». Nous savons que les températures mondiales augmentent, font fondre les glaciers, élèvent le niveau de la mer et provoquent des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes plus graves et plus fréquents. Mais en quoi ces changements affectent-ils la paix et la sécurité ? Et en quoi les facteurs sociaux, tels que les inégalités de sexe et autres, affectent-ils également ce lien ?

C’est ce que le cours en ligne « Changements climatiques, paix et sécurité : Comprendre les risques de sécurité liés au climat à travers une perspective intégrée » vise à démêler. Ce cours en ligne a été développé conjointement par UN CC:Learn, le PNUE, ONU Femmes, PNUDPA, PNUD et Adelphi, et présente une nouvelle opportunité intéressante d’explorer et de décomposer ces interactions complexes.

Cette expérience d’apprentissage gratuite et interactive, comprenant une interface dynamique avec des vidéos, des infographies, des quiz et plus encore, fournit les connaissances et les outils nécessaires pour analyser et identifier les opportunités visant à favoriser les interventions inclusives en matière de climat, de prévention des conflits et de consolidation de la paix. Le cours est divisé en trois modules progressifs :

  • M1 : Changements climatiques, paix et sécurité
  • M2 : Effectuer une analyse intégrée
  • M3 : Points d’entrée pour l’élaboration des politiques et la conception des programmes

Ce cours est principalement conçu pour responsabiliser les décideurs, les praticiens et les chercheurs. Cependant, toute personne ayant une formation ou intéressée par ces sujets peut également en bénéficier.

Au total, le cours dure environ 4,5 h et permet aux participants de :

  • Identifier les risques de sécurité liés au climat et leurs impacts sur différents groupes de personnes
  • Mener une analyse intégrée des conflits et du climat, notamment via le prisme du genre et de l’inclusion sociale
  • Élaborer des politiques, des stratégies et des interventions programmatiques qui intègrent les changements climatiques, la prévention des conflits, la consolidation de la paix et les objectifs d’égalité des sexes

À la fin de chaque module, les utilisateurs reçoivent un badge, et à la fin de l’intégralité du cours, les participants reçoivent un certificat de l’ONU.

Suivez le cours ici.

Les moments difficiles requièrent des solutions novatrices ! Alors que la crise de la Covid-19 bouleverse la vie de milliards de personnes, UN CC:Learn a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour adapter son fonctionnement à la « nouvelle normalité ». Voici un aperçu de ce qui a été fait pour permettre au programme de continuer à mener ses activités.

La pandémie de la Covid-19 a bouleversé la vie de milliards de personnes à travers le monde. Ceci a modifié de manière spectaculaire la façon dont les gens travaillent, apprennent et interagissent. Ce changement soudain a poussé UN CC:Learn à repenser la manière dont elle opère, surtout au niveau national.  A la suite de multiples consultations en ligne avec tous ses partenaires clés, les plans de mise en œuvre des activités de UN CC:Learn au niveau national, régional et mondial ont été ajustés.

Une nouvelle plateforme Zoom a été créée pour UN CC:Learn, permettant à la fois au secrétariat et à ses partenaires d’organiser des réunions et webinaires avec près de 500 participants. Une méthodologie a été aussi mise au point pour la conversion des ateliers en présentiel en évènements virtuels attrayants ; ces ateliers faisant partie du processus de développement et de mise en œuvre de la Stratégie Nationale d’Apprentissage en matière de Changement Climatique. Par exemple, une réunion, pour valider le rapport d’information du Kenya et son subséquent Atelier de Planification National, a été tenue entièrement en ligne pendant cet été. Un autre problème qui a émergé, c’est l’intermittente connexion internet dans certaines régions. Il est aussi en train d’être réglé avec l’appui de UN CC:Learn dès que possible.

L’initiative Dialogues des Jeunes sur le Climat, qui a été affectée par la fermeture  des écoles dans beaucoup de pays, est en train d’être réorganisée en des évènements en ligne. C’est aussi le cas des évènements de partage d’expérience entre pays, par exemple, une discussion sur l’apprentissage en matière de changement climatique et de l’économie verte, qui a eu lieu en septembre, dans le cadre de la plateforme régionale de UN CC:Learn en Afrique de l’Ouest et des formations sur le changement climatique.

Au cours des mois derniers, la plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne de UN CC:Learn a connu un pic de trafic, avec de nouveaux utilisateurs y accédant et suivant des cours chaque jour. Ceci peut être dû en partie  aux mesures d’auto-confinement adoptées dans plusieurs pays. Pour aider tous ces nouveaux apprenants, le programme a amélioré encore plus son infrastructure en ligne pour faire face aux trafics de plus en plus croissants et continue de développer de nouveaux produits d’apprentissage, tels que la série de cours en ligne Green Recovery (Relance Verte) et les versions française et espagnole du cours Gender & Environment (Genre & Environnement). Dans ce contexte, UN CC:Learn a récemment  célébré la délivrance de son 100.000ème  certificat. Désormais, UN CC:Learn est impatient de continuer à mobiliser les intervenants à travers une série d’évènements en ligne et de webinaires. La pandémie de la Covid-19 a montré qu’à travers l’innovation et le dialogue, une collaboration peut se poursuivre.

Approximately one-third of all food produced globally never gets eaten and is thrown away! Food waste has grave negative consequences that can be traced to poverty, inequality, and climate change.

 

UN CC:Learn and the Swedish Environmental Protection Agency have joined forces to make available the new “Food Waste Prevention” e-course, your go-to source of information, tips, and ideas on how to prevent food waste.

 

Read on to find out more!

Did you know that if food waste was a country, it would be the third-biggest greenhouse gas emitter on the planet, just after China and the United States? This dramatic example shows the scale of the problem and the urgent need for action. Governments, companies, and individuals have to dramatically accelerate efforts to meet target SDG 12.3 aimed at halving food loss and waste by 2030. Against this backdrop, UN CC:Learn and the Swedish Environmental Protection Agency have developed the Food Waste Prevention e-course to help everyone – from individual consumers to food producers – save food at all stages of the food chain.

This newly crafted, video-based, interactive e-learning course has 5 modules. Each module focuses on a specific stage of the food chain, including food manufacturing and retailing, food services, and household consumption. At each stage of the food chain, steps can be taken to target, measure, and act to stop food wasted. Practical tools and case studies help learners turn knowledge into actions in their everyday lives and business practices.

This e-course is open to everyone – from beginners to an expert – but it is particularly geared toward learners from emerging economies, such as China, Brazil, South Africa, and India, where consumption habits are quickly changing and setting up food waste prevention systems can have a great impact in the short and long run. Upon completion of the course, participants should be able to: 

  • Define the role key stakeholders play in food waste prevention.
  • Identify ways to measure and account for food waste at various stages of the food chain.
  • Describe effective measures to prevent food waste throughout the food chain.
  • Outline measures to minimize food waste wherever prevention is not possible.

After going through all five modules, learners will be asked to take a quiz and participate in a role-playing game to assess their knowledge. An official UN CC:Learn certificate will be granted to those who complete the course. 

Take the course! 

Climate change is increasingly affecting peace and security across the globe, and factors, such as gender and social inequalities, are catalysing the effects of this dire trend. How can one help prevent climate change from further disrupting peace and security? The answer is unveiled in this new e-course, for which users can register and learn from all three modules.

Read on and find out more about “Climate Change, Peace and Security: Understanding Climate-Related Security Risks Through an Integrated Lens”.

Climate change has been called “the defining issue of our time.” We know that global temperatures are increasing – melting glaciers, raising sea levels, and causing more severe and frequent extreme weather events. But how are these changes impacting peace and security? And how do social factors, such as gender and other inequalities, also affect this nexus?

That’s what the online course on “Climate Change, Peace and Security: Understanding Climate-Related Security Risks Through an Integrated Lens” aims to unravel. This e-course has been jointly developed by UN CC:Learn, UNEPUN WomenUNDPPAUNDP and Adelphi, and presents a new and engaging opportunity to explore and unpack these complex interactions.

This free and interactive learning experience, comprising a dynamic interface with videos, infographics, quizzes and more, provides the knowledge and tools needed to analyse and identify opportunities for promoting inclusive climate, conflict prevention and peacebuilding interventions. It is divided into three modules, with a progressively in-depth focus:

  • M1: Climate Change, Peace and Security
  • M2: Conducting Integrated Analysis
  • M3: Entry Points for Policymaking and Programme Design

This course is primarily designed to empower policymakers, practitioners, and researchers. However, anyone that has a background or is interested in these topics can also benefit from it.

Overall, the course will take around 4,5h to be completed, enabling participants to:

  • Identify climate-related security risks and their impacts on different groups of people
  • Conduct integrated conflict and climate analysis, including by using a gender and social inclusion lens
  • Design policies, strategies, and programmatic interventions that integrate climate change, conflict prevention, peacebuilding, and gender equality objectives

Users completing each module will receive a badge, while participants successfully finalizing the entire course will be awarded a UN certificate.

Take the course here.

Challenging times require innovative solutions! As the Covid-19 crisis upends the lives of billions of people, UN CC:Learn has taken all the necessary steps to adapt its operation to the “new normal”. Get a glimpse of what has been done to enable the programme to keep carrying out its activities.

The Covid-19 outbreak has upended the lives of billions of people all over the world. This has dramatically modified the way people work, learn, and interact. This sudden change has pushed UN CC:Learn to rethink the way it operates, especially at the country level. Following multiple online consultations with all its key partners, plans for the implementation of UN CC:Learn activities at national, regional and global level have been adjusted.

A new UN CC:Learn Zoom platform has been created, enabling both the secretariat and its partners to set up meetings and webinars with up to 500 attendees. A methodology to convert the face-to-face workshops, which are part of a National Climate Change Learning Strategy development and implementation process, into engaging virtual events has also been prepared. For instance, a meeting to validate Kenya’s background report and its subsequent National Planning Workshop took place fully online during the summer. Another issue that emerged is the intermittent internet connection in some areas, which is also being addressed with UN CC:Learn support whenever possible.

The Youth Climate Dialogues initiative, which has been affected by the closure of schools in many countries, are being re-organized as online events. This is also the case for experience-sharing events among countries, for instance, a discussion on climate change and green economy learning, which took place in September as part of the UN CC:Learn regional hub in West Africa, and climate change trainings.

Over the past months, the UN CC:Learn e-learning platform has also experienced a spike in traffic, with new users accessing it and taking up different courses every day. This may be partly due to the self-isolation measures adopted in several countries. To support all these new learners, the programme has further improved its online infrastructure to deal with increasing traffic and continues to develop new learning products, such as the Green Recovery e-course series and the French and Spanish versions of the Gender & Environment course. In this context, UN CC:Learn has recently celebrated the issuance of its 100,000th certificate.

Moving forward, UN CC:Learn is looking forward to continue to engage with stakeholders through a series of online events and webinars. The Covid-19 pandemic has shown that through innovation and dialogue collaboration can continue.